Ptarmigan Ridge- Mt. Baker area, Washington

I missed my post last week due to some travels in Pennsylvania.  I was able to fly to the east coast and spend some time with family and celebrate my niece’s second birthday!  I came back to the west coast with a short work week and a three day holiday weekend.  It is the Fourth of July weekend here is the US and I had off Friday because of it.  We took advantage of this and went hiking on Friday!IMG_5283

We drove about 2.5 hours north for a day of hiking.  After pulling into the parking area around 6:45am, we finished packing our bags, put on sunscreen and made a  quick trip to the bathroom.  There were already quite a few cars in the parking lot and many people already on the trails.  A few trailheads are here but it didn’t seem like too many people were going on the same hike we were.  IMG_5302

The trail was way more diverse than I had been expecting.  We hiking along steep cliffs, through small forest and grassy areas, over small stream made from snow runoff and then also through a few snow fields.  This was actually my first time hiking through snow.  They weren’t large sections or anything treacherous, but it was fun to experience.

IMG_5311

About 2.5 miles into the hike we spotted our first fellow hikers of the day.  They passed us while Eric was taking some time to change film in his cameras.  We’re actually pretty slow hikers.  We like to stop to snack, take photos and just take in the scenery.

IMG_5318

The hike total for the day ended up being 11.5 miles!  The elevation gain was 1,800 feet.  Elevation gain is really not my favorite thing, but this one really wasn’t bad.  I recently purchased hiking poles and this was my first time trying them out.  I always thought they looked goofy and not work carrying them around.  I was wrong!  I’m 100% sold on them!  They made life so much easier!  Climbing up hills and steep decents are much easier.  I’m more confident with my steps now too!IMG_5331

We had gorgeous view of Mt. Baker all day!  The wildflowers seem to been in peak season now too.  We had very little rain this winter and warmer temperatures the past few weeks.  Many hiking trails that are only accessible in August are open now.  It was really fun to be hiking in snow and then 10 minutes later be surrounded with purple lupines!

IMG_5334

IMG_5345

A much needed rest was taken when we reached our destination.  Eric wandered around and took photos while I rested and like I usually do…napped!  We also snacked on some pita bread and hummus we packed along.  This year we upgraded many pieces of our hiking/camping gear.  We each bought new Osprey 46 backpacks.  They can each hold 3 liter water bladders.  Eric finished off his water about a mile before the end of the hike.  I still had 1/2 a liter left when we made it back to the car.  I’m really impressed with how much water we drank and I’m also thankful we bought those 3 liter water bladders!  IMG_5361Ptarmigan Ridge was much more exciting and diverse than I anticipated!  We debated three different hikes.  I ended up choosing this one.  I think we were both really pleased with the decision!  There have been a few hikes we’ve done that I don’t think I’d ever want to do again, but this is definitely one I would do again in a few months or a few years!

Leave a comment