In A City Without A Camera

A men’s tank top, neon yellow. Its screen printed black letters, all caps, read “Winnipeg, Canada”. The red bubble letters on the sign above it indicate that it’s on sale for $8.88. It’s not the finest item in the souvenir store, but it’s probably the least expensive, even if we include the Winnipeg Jets mugs. We’re at Gate 9, an hour early, watching less punctual passengers who have earlier flights waddle full-speed past us. They look like red-faced balloons filled with time, and they’re about to burst.

If I had my camera with me right now, I wouldn’t take pictures of these people (although I’d want to). I don’t have the grit to be a street photographer. I’d probably try to find objects, textures, and colors to photograph… but as I look around, there are slim pickings. I don’t miss my camera at the moment.

I left my camera at home during our visit to Winnipeg, Manitoba for several reasons. Mostly I didn’t want to be distracted from ‘business’. We were here to buy a house (mission complete!). Also I wanted to see what it’s like to travel without a camera. I haven’t done this since I was a teenager. For starters, going through security at the airport was less of a hassle.

Another perk to not having my camera was being able to explore the city late at night without worrying about having it stolen. I felt safer to explore streets I probably would have avoided had my camera been with me. It was nice not having to worry about losing all the photos I took if someone stole my camera!

Now, the con of traveling without a camera… it’s obvious. I wasn’t able to take pictures. I don’t have visual souvenirs to take home with me or to share with others. If I had a photo for every time I said “Oh, I wish I had my camera!” I’d have a handful of great photos to add to my collection. But I don’t. I don’t feel at a great loss for it, but this is keeping in mind that I am going to live in Winnipeg next month. If it was a once-in-a-lifetime visit, I probably would have brought a camera.

That being said, I really enjoyed not having a camera with me, and I’d be tempted to travel without it for once-in-a-lifetime adventures. It was just less to worry about. Sure, I missed some great shots, but I remember them well enough to write about them. And that is what traveling without a camera is all about for me. It’s a great way to improve my writing, and to really get to know the city. There’s a lot to be said – and written – about that kind of experience.

Traveling without a camera did two profound things for me: it made my trip less stressful and lower maintenance, and it reminded me what it’s like to enjoy a place without being preoccupied by hoarding visual souvenirs.

So in closing, I offer this suggestion (or maybe we should call it a challenge) to fellow photographers: if you are able to visit a place more than once, try visiting without your camera more often than you visit with it. If your experience is anything like my own, you’ll get to know the place much better. Then when you decide to visit again camera-in-hand, you’ll have a better idea of what you want to shoot. You’ll know the mood of the place, what to look for. I look forward to many more camera-less visits to my Winnipeg before I venture into it with my trusty camera.

Leave a comment